Rules    FAQ
User: Guest ( Register )

It is currently Wed Apr 24, 2024 2:54 pm (All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ])

Forum locked This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 12 posts ] 
 Post subject: Customizing the same character for 15 times, possible?Legal?
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 9:51 am 

Hi there!

I'm gonna get straight to the point: I'm an indie game developer, finishing an almost 5-year long game, and I would like to release the game with almost no marketing at all.

The single piece of marketing I would like to try is: to do action figures from a game character, (maybe 10 or 15 units), and ship to the press.

I've did a quick research on 3d printing, and well, it does not looks easy, as generally 3d printed figures wave some texture, and to make the moving parts (arms, legs, head) is really hard.

So... I was thinking on the Customizing path. I dont think that there will be problems with Hasbro, as the toys will be sent to press only, on low quantities, and we're a really small studio.

What do you guys think? It's a viable path to try customizing figures?

Thanks!

Profile Customs Feedback / Brawlingness  

Post subject: Re: Customizing the same character for 15 times, possible?Le
PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:01 am 
Plug
Plug

10-15 of the same figure is possible. Try to find a base figure or two that have the colors you want to avoid painting elbow, shoulder, and knee joints (so they can pose the figure without paint coming off). If you can't find accessories out there either from mass produced figures or sites like Marauder Inc., then you can always try to hit up one fo tehcasters in the community like AvacsLab or StarWarsGeek or Raginspoon to recreate multiples of what you would like. Not the cheapest way, but that is how a lot of the fan run conventions are doing show exclusives, small tweaks and additions to existing figures.

PostPosted: Wed Aug 01, 2018 10:17 am